X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SleeplessWolf
    • Jan 2016

Advice for a young artist

Hello PencilJack forums, I'm a beginner and I'm a bit overwhelmed with how much there is to learn.
    I figured what better place to ask for advice than a forum with a load of talented and skillful artist.
    I've heard that I should start with the basics, but my question is:
    What are the basics?
  • Pencilero
    Tactical Dingus
    • Jan 2005

- Draw. Draw. Draw.
    - Go to local life drawing, be it free drawing at schools or at Doctor Sketchy groups.
    - Don't be afraid to copy from your heroes until you get comfortable.
    - Don't be afraid to screw up a lot.
    - Don't avoid the hard/boring stuff.
    - If you want to draw comics, start drawing them now. Learning how to fill a page, and mastering visual story telling is a different muscle than pin-up drawing.
    - Attach a price to your art and get to selling it.
    New and improved for 1996!
    Instagram: Pencilero

Comment

• SleeplessWolf
      • Jan 2016

Thank You!
      I really appreciate you taking the time to help me out.

Comment

• Smitty
        • Mar 2007

Drawing is magic. It's a couple of tricks followed by decades of practice.

Perspective is the #1 trick. EVERYTHING you will ever draw is governed by perspective. Some say light and dark but, light and dark are governed by perspective. Some say anatomy and construction but, anatomy and construction are governed by perspective. Until you can speak and think in "perspective" everything you draw will be wrong.