Page 1 of 17 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: "Tracing" and Photo Reference (AKA Why Greg Land is a Rotten Artist)

"Tracing" and Photo Reference (AKA Why Greg Land is a Rotten Artist)

A thread in the Art Challenges section prompted me to want to discuss this, and it seems like here might be as good a place as any. The challenge-starter made a comment:

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan.Smith View Post
    If your image is picture perfect, I wouldn't worry about it, unless you traced.
    It's something I've always been a little perplexed by: comics fans are extremely "swipe" conscious, with entire websites dedicated to discovering who swiped who. It's funny, I'll admit it, and it gets even funnier to watch the fans try to decide what's a "swipe" and what's an "homage".

But the same Tracing Police mentality also seems to apply to photographic references. "Use a reference, but don't trace" has always been the creedo to live by, but I don't understand it.

As a working illustrator, I often make use of photo references and the best way to use a photo reference is with a lightbox. I'm assuming even novice artists understand (or maybe they don't and I'm naive) that even "tracing" isn't a guaranteed realistic end product or even professional or accurate, particulary when starting with photography and translating it to line art. It takes a great deal of intuition and experience to effectively use a photo reference and translate it into an attractive or appropriate visual, tracing or no tracing.

Most illustrators I know with an even semi-realistic style lightbox photo references regularly. In fact, it was one of the first things I was encouraged to do back in school when I was training to become an illustrator. I did ask my illustration prof about it once:

"But isn't that cheating?"

"People rarely feel cheated when they're looking at an attractive, structured illustration."