Thread: Drawing circles with a crow quill

Drawing circles with a crow quill

Hi there. Total noob here and am trying to find some tips on using a crow quill nib pen. Basically, how the hell do you draw circles with one? I take it you can only really pull the pen toward you, because whenever I attempt something like a circle it just doesn't work (nib catches etc). It can't just be a matter of turning your paper around, so how is it done?
    Thanks for your help

Slowly. I use circle templates. The way I do it is to turn the quill as I go around the circle so the nib is always moving in the right direction. Takes a bit of getting used to and does leave ink on the templates that needs to be wiped immediately. But to do it freehand, I always go counterclockwise. If the nib is getting caught in the paper you may be using cheap crappy paper. Try some smooth or the least a vellum finish.
    You can also use a tech pen or a ruling pen with a template.

Blog Entries
    Do it in two strokes. Draw one half first then the other.

You need to practice a lot to do this freehand, but it can be done.

Also you don't have to be a purist.

If the circle is organic, consider using a brush or a different nib.
    The crow quill is not made for long strokes.

If the circle is a man-made object use a tech pen.
    Just Create - My blog about how to create comics.

PUMMEL LHW - W:5 - L:2 - KO: 2 - SF: 1-0

Joining you in the ABCs of faith - Action, Belief and Confidence

Quote Originally Posted by gamesjack View Post
    I take it you can only really pull the pen toward you, because whenever I attempt something like a circle it just doesn't work (nib catches etc). It can't just be a matter of turning your paper around, so how is it done?
    Thanks for your help