PDA

View Full Version : Charcoal

racharoni
04-29-2003, 06:07 PM
Is anyone familiar with the medium? I have the supplies, but I'm scared to death when it comes to experimenting with them, as I've never used them before. Anything I should know? How similiar is it to drawing? How different is it?

Inkthinker
04-29-2003, 07:31 PM
Look upsome techniques in an art book or online, and then start messin' about with 'em...

They're messy. Wear grubby clothing and keep some water and (disposable) towel nearby to get it off your fingers in a hurry if you need to answer a phone or something, and watch out that the dust doesn't get all over the place.You can create some very striking pieces with charcoal and pastels though.

And of course, every medium you practice in helps you improve in the other mediums that you use regularly, just by allowing you to look at your techniques in a new way.

Saturn Lad
04-29-2003, 08:02 PM
Yeah, just go get a huge tablet of newsprint and draw away. That way you won't be afraid of wasting expensive paper and you can go to town on it.

Pixelated_Pope
04-30-2003, 12:15 AM
When I started using charcoal, I just jumped right into it.

I use charcoal pencils, pretty heavy ones, and just use my fingers to blend everything around, then erase to create highlights.

Here's my first attempt with Charcoals. (http://meeksio.net/art/pictures/Kat.jpg)

...and my second (http://meeksio.net/art/pictures/My%20Muse%20(950x728).jpg)

...and my third (http://meeksio.net/art/pictures/Kat%203.jpg)

All were done with photo reference. I didn't really study any techniques or anything, and maybe I didn't really use the medium the way it was supposed to be used. I thought they turned out good, and she thought they turned out excellent (Which is what's really important).

So yeah, just jump in, start doing it, you'll get the hang of it easily. It's not that difficult of a medium to master. Then try using white and black charcoals on colored paper. Now that's hard!