PDA

View Full Version : A question about writing in general...

Inkthinker
04-02-2003, 03:43 AM
Wow... I don't believe I've ever actually stepped foot in this forum before, in all this time. Probably becasue I never was much of a writer before recently... aside from some of the stories and the little two-page comics I did for Club Z! kids magazine when I was the illustrator (hey, you do what can to vary up your workload).

But lately I've been pushing myself to concentrate on this property I've been working on for a few years now, off and on... it's always been more of a pet project than anything, but I'd liketo push it a little farther.

So I started actually trying to write a viable story for this material I wanted to create, and wouldn't you know it just got more and more complicated... I knew what sort of aesthetic I wanted to create, but I felt that I wanted a world with solid reasons for the visual imagery I desired. That meant every time I came up with a reason for, say, people to wear modern-style clothing in a fantasy world, I had to think about the repercussions of that reason and the various impacts that it might have on the rest of the world... I mean, if a person has rubber soles on their shoes, wouldn't that mean they'd probably have rubber tires on their wheels? This leads to some very interesting aspects of the world emerging on their own and so on... it makes the world interesting, I think.

So I hauled out all the old stuff from school about creative writing that I had forgotten about inthe years since... I started brainstorming on paper, figuring out how to get a plot that twist and turns stisfyingly but still tells the basic story I want to tell, and says what I want to say.